Monday August 16, 2010
WOLVERHAMPTON skipper Tai Woffinden made no mistake in the defence of his Gary Peterson Memorial Trophy at Monmore on Monday.

Woffinden was in an unstoppable mood on his home track to take the silverware in memory of a talented Wolves rider who died in 1975.

He reeled off five straight wins in an entertaining meeting with the youngsters putting on a good show.

Woffinden’s Parrys International Wolves colleague Nicolai Klindt could have forced a run-off for the title had he beaten him in his last outing, but it was Woffinden who held his nerve.

After defeats by Klindt and Woffinden in his opening two rides, Kevin Wolbert impressed with three straight wins. Heat 18 saw four rostrum contenders come to the tapes, but the German rode a hard first turn, and took the victory, to set up a run off with Klindt for second, which the Edinburgh man won comfortably.

Race of the night was heat 6, where Ryan Fisher and the determined Ty Proctor exchanged passes several times, with the Wolves’ mans efforts off the last bend just enough to snatch the race win.

In heat 17, the tidy Taylor Poole and Joe Haines were engaged in a serious battle for third, while in heat 19, a good race between Proctor and Sam Masters, saw temperatures rise after the flag. On the back straight of the “warm down” lap, Masters barged into Proctor, causing Wolves’ Aussie to fall from his machine, much to his obvious displeasure.

In a meeting where almost every rider had their moments, Dudley’s inexperienced duo of Ashley Morris and Tom Perry were on the pace, with Morris riding a composed race in heat 20, to hold off Kalle Katajisto for a point.

In a nice touch, Gary Peterson’s former New Zealand team mate, the legendary Ivan Mauger was on hand to present the trophies.

SCORERS: Tai Woffinden 15, Kevin Wolbert 13 (after run-off), Nicolai Klindt 13, Ty Proctor 11, Matt Wethers 11, Ryan Fisher 11, Kenni Larsen 10, Kenny Ingalls 7, Ricky Wells 7, Sam Masters 5, Joe Haines 4, Kalle Katajisto 4, Matt Tresarrieu 4, Taylor Poole 3, Tom Perry 1, Ashley Morris 1.

*DUDLEY Heathens take over Monmore Green once again tonight when they face Rye House in their push towards the National League play-offs.

Share This:   Facebook Twitter