Tuesday October 16, 2012
BRITISH Champion Scott Nicholls romped to his first Banks's Olympique title on a thrilling night at Wolverhampton.

The unique handicap system provided some tremendous action in front of a bumper crowd, with Coventry star Nicholls fighting off some stern competition to take the title and finish on the rostrum for the fifth consecutive time.

He bagged 14 points to finish three ahead of the impressive Ricky Wells who occupied second place as the top Wolves man.

Wells - arguably the most entertaining rider on show with some regular passing - was the only man to defeat Nicholls who himself sensationally came from 20 metres back to win in his final two rides.

A run off was needed to determine the final place in the top three, and Brummies skipper Danny King prevailed over winner of the last four Olympique's Freddie Lindgren and American Ryan Fisher.

Former Wolf Adam Skornicki scored nine despite suffering an arm injury early on, whilst the remaining Wolves contingent of Jacob Thorssell, Pontus Aspgren and Nicolai Klindt all ended on seven

One man always in the thick of the action was club legend Sam Ermolenko, and he rolled back the years as he raised the roof by taking the chequered flag in heat 12.

Top Wolf Ricky Wells said: “It's cool to finish second. I had a good meeting and stayed pretty consistent, so I was happy with it.

“When I have a good night like tonight I like the handicap system. It is fun, although it can be a bit sketchy if you are having a bad meeting".

“It was good to see Sam (Ermolenko) ride. It's always good to see him and he seemed to be having fun. I'm just happy he didn't bend my bike!”

1. Scott Nicholls (Coventry) 14
2. Ricky Wells (Sheffield and Wolverhampton) 11
3. Danny King (Birmingham) 10 After a run off
4. Freddie Lindgren (Wolverhampton) 10
5. Ryan Fisher (Plymouth) 10

Scott Nicholls 14, Ricky Wells 11, Danny King 10, Freddie Lindgren 10, Ryan Fisher 10, Adam Skornicki 9, Andrew Tully 8, Kevin Doolan 8, Pontus Aspgren 7, Peter Kildemand 7, Nicolai Klindt 7, Jacob Thorssell 7, Tom Perry 6, Sam Ermolenko 4, Aaron Fox 1, Oskar Fafjer 0, Reserves: Darryl Ritchings 1, Ashley Morris 0.


Share This:   Facebook Twitter