Monday August 10, 2015
WOLVERHAMPTON suffered a disappointing 52-38 defeat in a thrilling encounter with Swindon at Monmore Green.

The Parrys International Wolves put in a battling performance to play their part in some scintillating racing – but they came off second best and were powerless to prevent a second defeat in the space of two weeks against the play-off chasing Robins.

Promoter Chris Van Straaten conceded his struggling side were simply beaten by a better team – but he was unable to fault their effort.

Van Straaten said: “The entertainment was first class, there was some great racing for the neutral supporter, but the result was dreadful it has to be said.

“I won’t accept that the effort and spirit wasn’t there because it was, they rode their socks off tonight, but they just aren’t good enough and that showed against a very strong Swindon side.”

Lewis Blackbird top scored with a strong showing on a hectic night, taking six rides after reserve partner Josh Bates was forced to withdraw after taking a heavy knock to his right shoulder in an awkward heat two tangle with Charles Wright.

Jacob Thorssell notched two race wins with a creditable display, whilst Freddie Lindgren fought to 7+1 including a composed win in heat 11.

Tobiasz Musielak also bounced back from a tough start including a harsh exclusion in heat four to bag a last-gasp victory in an action-packed heat eight on his way to a hard-fought five points.

However, Peter Karlsson and Ricky Wells struggled against a powerful Swindon top three, with Darcy Ward scoring a stunning paid maximum as Wolves were condemned to another tough defeat.

They will be back in action at Monmore Green next Monday as they host fellow strugglers Leicester in a crucial basement battle as they aim to avoid finishing bottom of the Elite League table.

WOLVERHAMPTON 38: Lewis Blackbird 10+1, Jacob Thorssell 8, Fredrik Lindgren 7+1, Tobiasz Musielak 5, Peter Karlsson 5, Ricky Wells 2+1, Josh Bates 1.

SWINDON 52: Darcy Ward 13+2, Chris Harris 11, Troy Batchelor 10+2, Grzegorz Zengota 7, Charles Wright 5+1, Robert Branford 5, Eduard Krcmar 1.

Share This:   Facebook Twitter